Reviews

By February 28, 2019
| Verified Purchase
This speaker was a gift so I cant tell you how well it performs but before I gave it to the recipient I opened the box to verify its contents and everything was included, but I can tell you that it is a beautiful speaker, very well made, so the recipient responded back to me that the speaker sounded excellent! just amazing! but the only problem was it failed to charge after only a couple of months of use, it was given to the recipient in latter part of Dec 2018,
By March 14, 2019
| Verified Purchase
Good quality but it cost too much
By March 19, 2019
| Verified Purchase
Speaker was ok. Did not have the bass boom i wanted.
By April 12, 2019
| Verified Purchase
I'll start by saying I do really love the sound quality of this speaker. What you get sound-wise for what you pay is excellent. Highs and clarity suffer slightly but sound better than some speakers I've used at up to double the price. Mid and low range are excellent - you won't be wanting for bass response on this speaker. The extended bass mode is actually really good - usually these modes are gross and over-inflated, but it does a great job of giving you flexibility between genres.

The battery life: I don't think I've ever gotten anywhere near the 20hr mark. 5-7 hours is usually what I see. This is with proper battery cycling (not charging until it's completely drained). I can get that volume and if you're using x-bass would be factors, but again, have never gotten close to the advertised battery time. Have also had the speaker power off under higher volume loads at times with x-bass on, even with ample battery life left.

Bluetooth range is excellent, I rarely am out of eyeshot of it with my devices but even when I walk out of a room and forget that my phone is in my pocket, I can still hear it going.

Pure sound quality, I don't think you can do better for the price. Just depends if you can deal with some concessions in other areas.
By April 15, 2019
| Verified Purchase
Bought the Tribit Maxboom over the JBL flip 4 but seems quality control is an issue with Tribit. Either I got a bad unit or the glowing reviews are wrong!

The soundstage is overall poor, and the over bassy unit ruins low volume listening. Vocals sound good however.

My Aux input seems to be defective (tried multiple sources and multiple cables to ensure I wasn't using a bad cable or source) and performs at 30% of the bluetooth output, with noticeable hiss. Definitely an untested unit or poor quality assurance.

Even without XBass, there seems to be way too much bass in my unit. So much so that even at 5% volume there is no music clarity but enough bass to disturb people in the room.

FYI I own a variety of speakers including Dali, AudioEngine A5+, Yamaha and Sennheiser HD600 and PXC 550 headphones that I use regularly.

Tested this unit from full charge to depletion, thrice, playing a variety of music:
1. Western Classical - poor in reproducing piano and soundstage (2 out of 10)
2. Rock (60's) - again, too much bass and bad soundstage
3. Hip-hop - pretty ok
4. Soul and blues - vocals sound good, soundstage is poor
5. Heavy Metal - horrible
6. Netflix movies from phone - pretty good!

Overall, rather poor performance since loudness is not a criteria for people who want to listen to good music relaxing in the park or beach or hotel room. I will be returning this unit and try a replacement to give them another chance to test it again.
By May 3, 2019
| Verified Purchase
Not a bad speaker, sound is actually pretty decent for the price, actually sound quality is fantastic, but like many others the battery life is not what is claimed at all. I was initially happy with this speaker, good sound, wish it could get a little louder but I would not want to sacrifice sound quality for volume. I've used it off and on for the past few months and battery life is getting worse and worse. I'm getting around 5hrs out of a full charge with X bass on and volume ranging from 40-80%, which is nothing close to what they claim, and I wasn't getting near that even when it was new. So all in all, not a bad speaker for the price, sound is good, although more volume would be nice, great durability, just falls short on battery life, so if this isn't an issue for you it's still a great speaker for the price.
By May 18, 2019
| Verified Purchase
Whereas every app on my phone will play to my AirPods, I have trouble getting this to work with any app on my phone except Spotify. iTunes, Amazon, and my library apps don’t see this device even when Bluetooth sees it connected. Otherwise, sound is great and battery life seems good. I just get little opportunity to use it because of the connectivity issues. Sometimes the Bluetooth signal gets staticky too, even when the device is right next to it.
By August 23, 2018
| Verified Purchase
I purchased this speaker after watching Clavinejunkie's review and receiving a 40% off intro offer. I must admit that I have more than 10 different bluetooth speakers including speakers such as Bose Soundlink and Mini 2, JBL Xtreme, Charge 2 and 3, JBL Flip 4, Sony SRSX55, SRS XB 20's and 30's, Harmon Kardon G0 + Play, and several others. I purchased this speaker mainly to see if it could live up to the high praise from Oluv. Here are my thoughts...

At first I was very happy and really wanted it to be something special. After a couple of months of use, the sound is just not right. I just picked up a black Friday deal on a UE Megaboom. When comparing these two speakers, there is simply no comparison. The X Boom has a strange overall sound where the Megaboom is very clean and clear. The X Boom somewhat compares to the JBL Flip 4, but not to the Megaboom. It looks nice and seems to be well made, but the sound is sort of distorted and just is not clear.

If you and pick up a MegaBoom for $99 like I did, definitely buy it over this speaker. I paid like $40 for the Mega Boom which is about right. I would not buy it again. I will never use it except where it may be abused due to conditions. Buy a better speaker.
By September 13, 2018
| Verified Purchase
Did not sound that good compared to what they advertised.
By October 5, 2018
| Verified Purchase
Bought this based on reviews. Unimpressed. Build quality seemed ok. I realize it's not a boom box, but this speaker is weak. Volume is weak, bass is weak. Returned same day as delivered.
1 2 ... 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34
... 31 ... 34